0.07%FDIC national avg. interest checking APY (Sept 2026)
$0Monthly fee at Capital One 360, Ally, SoFi and Schwab checking
Up to 5.00%Top reward-checking APY (Consumers CU, on up to $10K)
$250,000FDIC/NCUA coverage per depositor, per category
Key takeaway: A good checking account in 2026 costs nothing to keep open: no monthly fee, no minimum balance and no overdraft fees are now standard at many large online banks and credit unions. Pick based on how you handle cash and ATMs, whether you need branches, and whether a reward-checking APY is worth its monthly hoops.
How we put this guide together: We compiled account terms from the banks' own pages, published reviews and comparisons (CNBC Select, Bankrate, NerdWallet), and official guidance from the FDIC, NCUA and Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. All figures were checked in early October 2026. APYs, fees and bonuses change often, so confirm current terms on the provider's site before you open an account. We do not rank accounts with scores of our own. See our advertiser disclosure.

What separates a good checking account from a costly one

Checking accounts are for money that moves: paychecks in, bills and card payments out. Interest is a minor factor because most checking balances are small and most accounts pay little. The FDIC's national average rate on interest checking was just 0.07% in September 2026. What costs you money is fees, so start there.

  • Monthly maintenance fee. Many accounts on this page charge none at all. Traditional bank accounts often charge one unless you keep a minimum balance or set up direct deposit. Check the waiver rules, not just the headline.
  • Overdraft and NSF fees. Every account in our comparison table below advertises no overdraft fee. That matters because a federal rule that would have capped overdraft fees at large banks was finalized by the CFPB in December 2024 and then repealed by Congress in 2025. Fee policies are up to each bank.
  • ATM access. Online banks rely on shared networks such as Allpoint and MoneyPass, and some reimburse fees charged by other ATM owners. Know where your nearest in-network machine is.
  • Cash deposits. This is the weak spot for online-only accounts. Some let you deposit cash at retail stores, sometimes for a fee.

No-fee checking accounts compared (early October 2026)

These accounts all advertise no monthly fee and no overdraft fees. They differ most on ATM access, cash deposits and the small amount of interest they pay.

AccountMonthly fee / minimum to openAPYATM accessCash deposits
Capital One 360 Checking$0 / $00.10%Capital One, Allpoint and MoneyPass ATMs (70,000+)CVS and Walgreens via app; branches and Capital One Cafés in select states
Ally Bank Spending Account$0 / $00.10% under $15,000; 0.25% at $15,000+Allpoint ATMs free; up to $10 per statement cycle in other ATM fees reimbursedWalmart Money Centers via app
SoFi Checking and Savings$0 / $00.50% on checking55,000+ Allpoint ATMs; out-of-network fees not reimbursedGreen Dot retail locations, up to $4.95 per deposit
NBKC Everything Account$0 / $01.75%Up to $12 a month in out-of-network domestic ATM fees reimbursedBranches in Kansas and Missouri only
American Express Rewards Checking$0 / $01.00%37,000+ MoneyPass ATMs; no reimbursementNot stated by the bank
Alliant Credit Union High-Rate Checking$0 / $250.25% with paperless statements and a recurring deposit80,000+ ATMs; up to $20 a month in out-of-network fees reimbursedNot stated
Schwab Bank Investor Checking$0 / $00.01%Unlimited ATM fee rebates worldwideNot stated; requires a linked Schwab brokerage account

Source: CNBC Select free checking comparison (updated Oct. 2, 2026); Ally.com rates as of Oct. 5, 2026; Bankrate Capital One review (Oct. 2026); NerdWallet SoFi review (Oct. 2026). APYs are variable and may change at any time.

How these accounts differ in practice

Capital One 360 Checking is a good fit if you want an online-style account but still need a physical place to handle cash. You can deposit cash at CVS and Walgreens through the app, and at Capital One branches and cafés where they exist. Its ATM footprint is one of the largest among no-fee accounts.

Ally's Spending Account suits people who rarely use cash. It has no branches, but it pays a little interest, rebates up to $10 per statement cycle in ATM fees, and accepts cash at Walmart Money Centers. Ally keeps savings, CDs and checking under one login, which makes moving money between buckets quick.

SoFi bundles checking and savings. Its checking side pays 0.50% APY, and the savings side pays up to 3.30% APY if you set up direct deposit, deposit $5,000 a month, or pay for SoFi Plus ($10 a month). Without one of those, savings earns 0.80%. SoFi offers overdraft coverage up to $50 for qualifying customers with no fee. The catch is cash: retail deposits can cost up to $4.95 each.

Schwab Bank Investor Checking pays almost nothing, but it refunds ATM fees worldwide. That can make it useful if you travel or use many different ATMs. You must also open a linked Schwab brokerage account.

Alliant is a credit union. Its deposits are insured by the NCUA rather than the FDIC, with the same $250,000 standard limit.

High-yield (reward) checking: real rates, real hoops

Some credit unions and small banks pay savings-account-level APYs on checking. The catch is that you must meet monthly requirements, and the top rate only applies up to a balance cap. Miss a requirement and you usually earn a token rate for that month.

AccountTop APY and balance capMonthly requirementsMinimum to open
Consumers Credit Union Rewards CheckingUp to 5.00% on up to $10,00012 debit card purchases, $500 in direct deposits, $1,000 in Consumers credit card spending, e-statements$5
Connexus Credit Union Xtraordinary CheckingUp to 4.50% on up to $25,00015 debit purchases or $500 in spending, $500+ direct deposit, e-statements$5
All America Bank Ultimate Rewards CheckingUp to 3.95% on up to $15,00010 debit purchases, e-statements$50 (in person)

Source: CNBC Select high-yield checking comparison (October 2026). Rates and requirements are set by each institution and can change monthly.

Before you chase these rates, do the math. On a $10,000 balance, the difference between 5.00% and a 3.30% high-yield savings account is about $170 a year before taxes. If hitting 12 debit purchases means shifting spending off a rewards credit card, part of that gain disappears. Reward checking works best if you already use a debit card often and keep a steady balance near the cap.

How to choose: a five-question checklist

  1. Do you handle cash? If you get paid in cash or deposit cash weekly, a bank with branches or free retail deposits will save you trips and fees.
  2. Where do you use ATMs? Look up in-network machines near your home and work. If none are close, choose an account that reimburses other banks' ATM fees.
  3. Will you ever overdraw? Compare overdraft policies even on no-fee accounts. Some decline the transaction; others cover small overdrafts for free. Linking a savings account as a backup is another option.
  4. Do you need checks, Zelle or a debit card for travel? Confirm the account offers the features you rely on. Check-writing, person-to-person payments and foreign transaction fees vary from bank to bank.
  5. Where will your savings live? Checking rarely pays much. Keep bills money in checking and move the rest to a high-yield savings account. Holding both at the same bank makes transfers instant, but splitting them can earn a better savings rate.

If you are building a spending plan, our guide to making a budget shows how to decide how much to keep in checking versus savings.

Denied a checking account? ChexSystems explained

Banks and credit unions often screen applicants with a checking account reporting company. ChexSystems is the best known. These reports list problems such as unpaid overdrafts or accounts closed for cause, not your credit score.

Under federal rules described by the CFPB:

  • You can get one free report a year from each nationwide checking account reporting company, plus a free report after a bank denies you and sends an adverse action notice.
  • The reporting company must investigate disputes and correct inaccurate information.
  • Negative information can stay for up to seven years, though some companies disregard items older than five years.

If you are turned down, request your report, dispute errors, and pay off any old balance a bank says you owe. Then ask about "second chance" accounts or try another institution, since each bank sets its own policy. Accounts certified under the Bank On National Account Standards are designed for this situation. They have no overdraft or NSF fees, a monthly fee of $10 or less ($5 or less if it cannot be waived) and an opening deposit of $25 or less.

Is your money insured? FDIC, NCUA and fintech apps

Checking deposits at an FDIC-insured bank are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, per bank. Credit union accounts get the same standard coverage from the NCUA's Share Insurance Fund, which is backed by the full faith and credit of the U.S. government. Some providers spread deposits across partner banks for more coverage. SoFi, for example, advertises up to $3 million.

Be careful with apps that are not banks. The CFPB warns that "deposit insurance does not apply when a nonbank payment company fails." Money in an app may only qualify for pass-through insurance if the app and its partner bank keep accurate records. If you use a fintech app as your main account, find out which bank actually holds your money. Our online banks guide covers what happened when the fintech middleman Synapse collapsed in 2024.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Opening for a bonus without reading the conditions. Bonus offers come with their own terms, such as a minimum direct deposit within a set window. Read them before you switch your paycheck.
  • Ignoring minimum-balance waivers. A "free" account that charges a fee below a set balance can cost more than an account with no fee at all.
  • Keeping your emergency fund in checking. At a 0.07% national average, it barely earns anything. See our emergency fund guide for where to park it.
  • Closing the old account too soon. Move direct deposits and autopays first, wait one full billing cycle, then close it.

Frequently asked questions

Are there checking accounts with no fees at all?

Yes. As of early October 2026, accounts such as Capital One 360 Checking, Ally's Spending Account, SoFi Checking and Savings and Schwab Bank Investor Checking advertised no monthly fee, no minimum to open and no overdraft fees. Out-of-network ATM charges and retail cash-deposit fees can still apply, so read each fee schedule.

What is the average interest rate on checking accounts?

The FDIC's national rate for interest checking was 0.07% in September 2026. Most standard checking pays little or nothing, while reward checking at some credit unions pays several percent on capped balances if you meet monthly requirements.

Is high-yield checking better than a high-yield savings account?

Only if you will reliably meet the monthly requirements, such as a set number of debit purchases and direct deposits, and keep your balance near the cap. If you miss a requirement, you usually earn a token rate that month. A high-yield savings account pays a lower top rate but has no activity rules.

Why was I denied a checking account?

Banks often check reports from ChexSystems or similar companies for past unpaid overdrafts or accounts closed for cause. According to the CFPB, you can get a free report after a denial, dispute errors, and try other institutions or second-chance accounts, since each bank sets its own policy.

Are online checking accounts safe?

An online bank that is FDIC insured protects deposits up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category, the same as a branch bank. Credit unions get equal coverage through the NCUA. Fintech apps that are not banks are different: insurance only applies if the partner bank fails and records are properly kept, not if the app company itself fails.

Can I deposit cash into an online checking account?

Sometimes. Capital One customers can deposit cash at CVS and Walgreens through the app, Ally accepts cash at Walmart Money Centers, and SoFi accepts cash at Green Dot locations for up to $4.95 per deposit. Some online-only accounts have no cash option at all.

Sources

Rates, fees and terms change often. Figures were checked in October 2026; confirm current details with the provider before you apply.